Skip to main content
Teach For America South Carolina

South Carolina partners with nine school districts across seven counties spanning 200 miles in the Pee Dee (Florence, Darlington, Clarendon), Midlands (Orangeburg), and Low Country (Charleston, Berkeley, and Colleton) areas of the state.

Our partner schools are in small towns (such as Manning in Clarendon county), suburban areas (such as Florence and Orangeburg), and mid-size cities (such as Summerville in Berkeley county and Charleston).

Where you teach depends on multiple factors (including district demand, compelling personal geographic needs, and ties to a community) but all of our South Carolina partner districts are within 40-60 minutes of metro or sub-metro areas (Columbia, Florence, or Charleston). As a result, our South Carolina corps members have the unique option to live and teach in a small town or to teach in a small town and commute to live in a metro or sub-metro area.

Check out this chart to see a list of our partner districts, locations of most schools, and commutable access.

Find out more about teaching in South Carolina, including salary information and details on certification and training.