National Board of Directors

Wendy Kopp
Founder and Chair of the Board
Teach For America

Wendy Kopp is the founder and chair of the board of Teach For America. She proposed the creation of Teach For America in her undergraduate senior thesis at Princeton in 1989 and spent more than 20 years working to grow the organization’s impact. Under her leadership, Teach For America’s nearly 38,000 participants have reached more than 3 million children nationwide during their two-year teaching commitments. They have sustained their commitment as alumni, working inside and outside the field of education to ensure educational excellence and equity for all children.

Kopp is also chief executive officer and co-founder of Teach For All, a global network of independent social enterprises which are working to expand educational opportunity in their nations by recruiting and developing their nation's most promising future leaders to commit two years to teach in high-need areas and become lifelong leaders for educational excellence and equity. Teach For All seeks to accelerate and increase the impact of network organizations, including Teach For America, by deepening commitment to the unifying model around the world, collaborating with network organizations to develop and adapt best practices, fostering global networks of staff members, participants, and alumni, and generating access to additional resources internationally.

Kopp is the author of the Washington Post bestseller A Chance to Make History: What Works and What Doesn’t in Providing an Excellent Education for All and One Day, All Children: The Unlikely Triumph of Teach For America and What I Learned Along the Way. She is also the recipient of numerous honorary degrees and awards for public service. She resides in New York City with her husband Richard Barth and their four children.



Our National Board of Directors plays a critical role in developing Teach For America’s strategic plan and ensuring that we are able to meet the ambitious goals we set for ourselves.  We are deeply grateful for the advice, support, and advocacy our Board members provide.

Thomas H. Castro
Founder and CEO
El Dorado Capital, LLC

Maxine Clark
Founder, Chief Executive Bear & Chairman
Build-A-Bear Workshop®

Paul Finnegan
Madison Dearborn Partners

David Gergen
Professor of Public Service
Director of the Center for Public Leadership
Harvard University

Randall H. Harbert 
Senior Vice President
State Farm Insurance Companies

Walter Isaacson (Chairman Emeritus)
President & CEO
The Aspen Institute

Joel Klein
CEO, Education Division
Executive Vice President, Office of the Chairman
News Corporation

Wendy Kopp (Chair)
CEO & Co-Founder
Teach For All

Matthew Kramer 
Teach For America

Sue Lehmann
Management Consultant

Michael L. Lomax
President & CEO
United Negro College Fund

Stephen F. Mandel, Jr. (Treasurer) 
Managing Director
Lone Pine Capital, LLC

Richard D. Parsons (Lead Director)
Senior Advisor
Providence Equity Partners, Inc.

Greg Penner
General Partner
Madrone Capital Partners

Nancy Peretsman
Managing Director
Allen & Company, LLC

Vince Roig
Helios Education Foundation

Paula A. Sneed (Chair, National Council)
Retired Executive Vice President
Kraft Foods, Inc.

Lawrence H. Summers
President Emeritus
Charles W. Eliot University Professor
Harvard University

Beverly Daniel Tatum
Spelman College

Elisa Villanueva-Beard
Teach For America

José H. Villarreal
Senior Advisor
Akin Gump

Gregory W. Wendt
Senior Vice President
Capital Research Company

Margaret “Meg” Whitman
President & Chief Executive Officer
Hewlett-Packard Company




National Board: Lifetime Directors

Our Lifetime Directors played a critical role for many years in developing Teach For America’s strategic plan and ensuring that we are able to meet the ambitious goals we set for ourselves. We are deeply grateful for the advice, support, and advocacy that our Lifetime Directors continue to provide.

John Hotchkis
Founder, Chairman & CEO
Ramajal, LLC

Sherry Lansing 
Sherry Lansing Foundation



National Council of Regional Board Chairs

Our National Council is comprised of the chairs of each of our regional advisory Boards.  This group provides critical oversight of our regional operations and shares best practices that help us maximize our local impact.

Rich McClure
(St. Louis)

UniGroup, Inc.

Joseph Aluise
(Greater New Orleans)

Senior Counsel
Entergy Services Inc.

Steve Betts

President and CEO
SunCor Development Company

Katherine Bradley
(D.C. Region)

City Bridge Foundation

Steve Luquire

CEO & Founder
Luquire George Andrews

H. Mitchell D’Olier

President & CEO
Kaneohe Ranch Management Limited

G. Douglas Edwards

Retired CEO
Morgan Keegan

Paul Finnegan

Madison Dearborn Partners 

Jason M. Fish
(Bay Area)

Co-Founder and Director
Alliance Partners, LLC

Robin Golden

Selma M. Levine Clinical Lecturer 
Yale Law School

Richard Green
(Kansas City)

The Calvin Group

Robert J. Hall 
(Greater Philadelphia)

Andesite Holdings

Steven T. Halverson

Chief Executive Officer
The Haskell Company

Cordell Haymon
(South Louisiana)

Vice President
SGS Petroleum Service Corporation

John Herrera
(Rio Grande Valley)

General Manager
Magic Valley Electric Cooperative

Dave Horne
(Eastern North Carolina)

Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan

Jack Lowell

Vice Chairman
Flagler Real Estate Services LLC

Jan Rivitz

The Aaron and Lillie Straus Foundation

Phil Jacobs
(Metro Atlanta)

Senior Consultant 
Coxe, Curry & Associates 

Zack Neumeyer

Sage Companies

Scott Nuttall
(New York)

Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co.  

Lori Vetters

Regional President, Houston Gulf Coast

Dana Zucker
(Greater Newark)

Independent Consultant

Mark Hill

Managing Partner, Collina Ventures, LLC


University Champions’ Board

We are extremely fortunate to have a dedicated group of college presidents and chancellors supporting our efforts to grow and diversify the movement to end educational inequity.

Bruce Benson
University of Colorado, Boulder

Robert J. Birgeneau
University of California, Berkeley

Kim Bottomly
Wellesley College

Richard Brodhead
Duke University

Grant Cornwell
The College of Wooster

Scott S. Cowen
Tulane University

Michael Crow
Arizona State University

Amy Gutmann
University of Pennsylvania

Freeman Hrabowski
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Michael V. Martin
Louisiana State University

Dr. Daniel Porterfield
Franklin & Marshall College

Beverly Daniel Tatum (Chair)
Spelman College

Holden Thorp
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Shirley M. Tilghman
Princeton University


Snapshot of Teach For America's 2014 National Board »