About the Award

The Teach For America Social Innovation Award is intended to spark bold, new innovations that expand opportunities and eliminate educational inequity for students in low-income communities. The award is a critical component of Teach For America’s broader innovation strategy and recognizes alumni whose work exemplifies innovation, leadership skills, and transformative impact and sustainability.  

Learn More »


2013 Winners

Kelly Amis (Los Angeles '90): TEACHED - $50,000
Elliot Sanchez (Greater New Orleans '08): mSchool - $50,000
Zeke Berzoff-Cohen (Baltimore '08): The Intersection - $20,000
Elizabeth Davidson (Mid-Atlantic '06): ScriptEd - $10,000
Yamilee Toussaint (New York '08): STEM From Dance - $10,000


Teach For America is deeply grateful to The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, The Doris & Donald Fisher Fund, and Joyce and Larry Stupski for sponsoring this new award and helping to seed innovation among our growing network of corps members and alumni.

Visit the award website >


Given the magnitude of educational inequity ... we must speed up the pace of change. Our Social Innovation Award aims to do just that by recognizing and fostering entrepreneurial leadership among our alumni to tackle the root causes of the problem and pioneer innovations that will accelerate progress.
Wendy Kopp, founder of Teach For America